History 131/132 Research Guide

What is a Search Engine (Google, Bing, etc.)?

• Give access to information given freely to the public
• When you search Google (and others) you are searching a large number of websites
• No quality controls governing websites leads to other issues
  • Information is not always complete
  • Anyone can create a website, thus making some information unreliable or even false

What is a database?

• Searchable collection of research
  • Articles, Studies, Book Chapters,
• In most cases the records have a great deal of description, so they are easier to find
• The Library subscribes to these databases for all at the College

What are the differences between a search engine and a library database?

• Library databases cost money because they contain carefully selected research of high quality, in most cases
• The majority of quality research cannot be accessed by a search engine
• Also because of cost licensing and access, people need their Sandhills log in
• Databases are developed by specialists so they can be “researched”
• Anyone can put together a website

When do I use which resource?

• Search engines are good for quick answers and resources not covered in the library databases
• A library database allows the user to build an effective search and allows access to the most reliable research

C- Currencey

R- Relevance

A- Authority

A- Accuracy

P- Purpose

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

• When was the information published or posted?
• Has the information been revised or updated?
• Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
• Are the links functional?

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.

• Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
• Who is the intended audience?
• Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
• Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
• Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?

Authority: The source of the information.

• Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
• What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
• Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
• Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
• Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.

• Where does the information come from?
• Is the information supported by evidence?
• Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
• Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
• Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
• Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?

Purpose: The reason the information exists.

• What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
• Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
• Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
• Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
• Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?