"Articles are delightful!"
"Why articles?"
When instructors ask you to use articles, that means they want you to use a newspaper, a popular magazine, or sometimes an academic journal. The easiest way to do this is to use the databases listed above to obtain professor-approved articles from your home or office.
You can always use Google, but unless you're pulling directly from say, the official website of the Wall Street Journal, that's not really the kind of thing your professor wants to see. Random blogs and wikis? No: your instructors want quality.
Why not give it to them?
Google Scholar Search
How Cool Is That!
Find Articles via Boyd Library Databases
Top General Database:. ProQuest Central- This database covers all subjects.
Top Business Database: ABI/INFORM Complete- This database covers the world of business.
Top Databases for Controversial Topics: CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints. These provide objective research reports on hot button issues.
Students can obtain a student username and password on the MySCC Password Management page. For assistance please contact the Boyd Library Help Desk at info@sandhills.edu.
This SCC online resource is only available to Sandhills Community College registered students, faculty, and staff.
Citation Guides
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style GuideThis guide is a good starting place for creating citations. Instructors do prefer that students use the official MLA guide. A copy is available in the library.
- Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style GuideThis guide is a good starting place for creating citations. Instructors do prefer that students use the official APA guide. A copy is available in the library.
Citation Managers
- Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
- Flow
Cloud-based document management platform; free to students and faculty. Organize, annotate and share research documents; create and manage bibliographies.